Megan O'Dea Jenkins

Wishing you smiles and laughter every day.

Holiday Traditions December 21, 2009

Filed under: Gifts,Holidays — meganodea @ 2:37 am
Tags: , , ,

Every year before Christmas my Aunt Jody has my sister and I over to do some sort of holiday treat decorating, then she cooks us an amazing dinner. It’s a special tradition we’ve done since we were little tykes, now we may have a missed a few years in there while we were both in college but we’ve been back at it the last few holidays.

Because we are so creative, she’s always trying new techniques or ideas with us. This year, we tried the technique called flooding. Basically, after piping the outline of the cookie you flood it with a frosting that dries quick and with a matte finish. Then you go back and pipe designs on it and add sparkles and treats.

While we aren’t professional and she may change her frosting recipe a bit for next year, I think they turned out gorgeous!! And I’m sure they taste amazing too. . . I didn’t even sneak a taste, but my sister did.

Thanks for another fun holiday night Aunt Jody!!

Smiles,

Megan

 

14 Responses to “Holiday Traditions”

  1. Jami Says:

    WOW amazing!!!

  2. Kate Says:

    Megan has much more artistic ability than me and it definitely showed tonight! 🙂 Good job sista! And YES, they do taste amazing!

  3. Karla Steele Says:

    Where was Aunt Judy when I needed her last week? These are beautiful. I think you should start selling them for people like me who may never try a cookie exchange again!

  4. Angie Says:

    Those are amazing girl. I did some with Drew this past weekend and they don’t even compare! Great work!

  5. miss lynn Says:

    holy stink. these
    are gor*geous.
    i seriously thought
    they were photos
    from a magazine.
    merry
    MERRY
    Christmas!

  6. Dad Says:

    I don’t believe they are real, at least I did not get to actually get to bite into one.

  7. You are sooooo crafty!

  8. […] fun and something he would keep forever. Now, you may remember me mentioning my Aunt Jody here, she is an artist herself creating beautiful cookies, cakes and other amazing deserts!  She even […]

  9. […] since I can remember my Aunt Jody has done some sort of decorating project with my sister and I (check out last year’s), and they ALWAYS resemble something I expect Martha Stewart to […]

  10. […] I wanted to make my Aunt something special this Christmas, something cute and creative and fun, but what can you possibly make for a lady that bakes and decorates amazingly beautiful treats such as these? […]

  11. […] you have to admit, we’ve got some mad decorating skills! Remember this adventure? Or our adorable cake […]

  12. […] hand. If you have been following me for awhile you are very familiar with my Aunt Jody because of this, this, this and this. (If not, take a look, she’s amazingly creative in the decorating baked […]


Leave a Reply

