Megan O'Dea Jenkins

Wishing you smiles and laughter every day.

Painting the Night Away February 14, 2010

Filed under: Gifts,Illustration — meganodea @ 8:23 pm
Tags: , , ,

I’ve been having a ball spending a lot of time in my art room lately, I can’t explain how wonderful it feels to be in that state of mind where you can just get lost in a project for hours. I haven’t been able to get there for a long time so it’s been a real treat.  I received this beautiful easel below at Christmas from my boyfriend Brian, a very very special surprise.  So of course, I wanted the first painting to be for him!

Brian loves music and is a big Eric Clapton fan and one night he shared with me this really cool old photo of Clapton. . .I learned that this guitar was specially designed for Slow Hand to hold a cigarette!

So, with a little artistic license, I created my own interpretation of the black and white photo and surprised Brian with it for Valentine’s Day.  I’m pretty happy with how it turned out and absolutely loved going through the creative process, that’s my favorite part of being an artist, the process.

And as my fellow artists probably experience too, you usually have a favorite part of the creation that you feel turned out really cool for some reason or another.  This is my favorite part, it was a technique I learned in school to create the look of transparency like tape holding the chord to the guitar.  By putting down one stroke of watered down light gray paint and a few touches of highlight and shadow you can almost feel the tape covering up the chord!  Well. . . I can anyway!

I had some difficulty figuring out what some of the things were because the photo I worked from was black and white and very stylized so I tried to just concentrate on the contrast between light and dark and not so much the details (which is hard for a trained scientific illustrator to do!) I also really like how the smoke from the cigarette turned out.

This was such a fun project and best of all I loved surprising Brian with it.  While neither of us will ever be able to play the guitar like Clapton, we can always dream – and enjoy his blues inspired music!  What special gift did you make for your Valentine? I would love to see them!

Smiles,
Megan

 

19 Responses to “Painting the Night Away”

  1. Jami Says:

    Seriously so what are you painting for me? Damn girl you are awesome!!!

  2. Amy Says:

    That’s awesome Megan! Very impressed. 🙂 Luv it.

  3. Angie Says:

    Megan, you are amazing!!

  4. dad Says:

    I made lunch for my valentine!
    This is your mother…….

  5. dad Says:

    PS Your painting is wonderful!
    MOM

  6. meganodea Says:

    Thanks for the kind words everyone! Glad you like it!! Send me your orders 🙂

  7. nikki Says:

    beautiful megan! you have such a gift.

  8. dad Says:

    what did the receiver of this artwork have to say about it?

  9. Dena Says:

    Great job Megan…such a great painting! You are so talented!

  10. Karla Steele Says:

    You have such a gift, not just your ability to paint but having someone to paint for. Your ability continues to astonish me (although it shouldn’t!). This is awesome…did Brian just gush over it and you?

  11. Kate Says:

    Way to go sister! 🙂

  12. Di-Ann Neff Says:

    I am blown away at your talent. The painting of Eric C. is great. I know Brian loves it.
    You have a God given talent. I can’t wait to see your other projects.

    • meganodea Says:

      Oh thank you so much! We just picked out a frame for it last night, it’s going to look very 70’s! I can’t wait to see your projects!! Everytime we go to the art store Brian shows me something different you used to create! Thanks for the kind words. Have a great day!

  13. miss lynn Says:

    ohmystars! megan.
    this. is. so. cool!
    what a great gift.
    lucky man…you
    really do rock.

  14. Lucy Says:

    Wow, Megan, this is super cool!! And your art room looks fab, i could just curl up in there for hours, listening to pandora radio and drinking tea. Good for you! xox
    Ps. I just discovered your blog but now i will be on here all the time!

    • meganodea Says:

      I think you should start a blog friend, you are sooo good at writing and have so much gorgeous and fun artwork you could share with us! Thanks for following!


Leave a Reply

