Megan O'Dea Jenkins

Wishing you smiles and laughter every day.

Love Is In The Air March 28, 2010

Ah, springtime, sunshine, green plants starting to sprout and love is in the air. Literally! My grandparents courtship back in the early 40’s was via air mail as my Grandfather lived here in Nebraska and my Grandmother lived on the East Coast.  All that time they kept these beautiful letters, sent weekly by Air Mail to each other, planning their wedding and the start of their life together.  This was the very first Memory Box that I ever created and will probably always be my favorite. (unfortunately the photos probably do not do this justice)

I wanted to highlight the air mail stamp and play off of that theme for the cover. This is water color on Arches hot press watercolor paper.

The inside of the memory box holds the letters in two bundles secured with ribbon.  This was actually a project for a calligraphy class so I read all of the letters and wrote a little story about their courtship.  Because both of my Grandparents are Greek, they would write in both English and Greek to each other so sometimes I couldn’t quite tell what was being said!  The story is kept in the blue envelope on the inside of the lid along with other items like jewelry and special photos.

The letters themselves are just so beautiful with the old air mail stamps, gorgeous  handwriting and the Royal Chocolate Shop logo on all the envelopes.  Each letter was obviously opened very carefully at the top with what I’m sure was a letter opener. Probably the one I remember my Grandfather opening his mail with when I was a little kid!

With email and text messaging and cell phones right at our finger tips these days, our loves stories and courtships are much different so maybe that’s why I have such an appreciation for this little piece of my past, something we can keep forever.

Enjoy this beautiful spring weather, I hope love is in the air for all of you!

Smiles,

Megan

 

8 Responses to “Love Is In The Air”

  1. Jami Says:

    Beautiful work!

  2. Angie Says:

    Megan…you are amazing.

  3. Mom Says:

    Theirs indeed was a love story and you captured the essence of it perfectly. I can see them smiling down at you now…so proud of your artistic talent and everything else about you! Thanks for sharing it. It truly was a special gift you gave me and I will treasure it!
    Love, MOM

  4. Miss Lynn Says:

    lovely, miss megan. you
    are a gifted girl! have you
    thought about silver
    bella? the teachers
    have all been announced!!!
    🙂
    happy day!

    • meganodea Says:

      Hi Lynn! I just told Karla today that I will be joining you ladies for the market night again. I liked the projects but it’s just a little too paper arts focused for what I want to do with my creations. . . I’m hoping to take some painting classes at the Joslyn. But I can’t wait to see your beautiful creations!!! The Easter photos of the kids are so cute Lynn!!!

  5. Jena Strong Says:

    I loved this–thank you for the lovely images. I paired one of them (with a link to your post) with a poem today: http://jenastrong.com/2014/04/15/call-and-response-dana-gioias-poem-the-letter/
    All best,
    Jena


Leave a Reply

