Megan O'Dea Jenkins

Wishing you smiles and laughter every day.

My First Belly Cast October 23, 2010

 

Being a Cyclone (and celebrating our HUGE WIN over Texas today!) in Nebraska is tough, this big red N is EVERYWHERE!!  But I didn’t mind doing a Husker themed project for a good friend of mine because this particular project was something I had never done, decorating a belly cast!!

 

 

 

We started with a few different ideas that I sketched out.

 

 

And after trimming up the loose ends of the belly cast to give it a nice, clean shape I then sanded it and applied gesso just like you would on a newly stretched canvas. I used a 4B pencil to freehand sketch the chosen design on the gessoed surface.

A little blurry but there it is after applying many layers of acrylic paint.

And a side view shows the double red stripes, just like the Huskers have on their game day pants!


I used a black Sharpie marker to do the lettering (blurred here for privacy reasons) which worked out really well. Then coated the entire piece with a matte spray finish.   I glued the ribbon to the back with fabric glue and it feels like it will hold up really well.


This is going to look so cute in Dylan’s Husker themed nursery!

 

Smiles!

Megan

 

5 Responses to “My First Belly Cast”

  1. dad Says:

    I saw this up close. Once you get over where it came from, it is cute and I am sure a keepsake. I know the parents of the baby like it so that is all that matters.

  2. Kate Says:

    Looks awesome!! Can’t wait to see what your next project is you complete 🙂


Leave a Reply

