Megan O'Dea Jenkins

Wishing you smiles and laughter every day.

Guitar Gods November 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — meganodea @ 9:05 pm

I picked this artwork up at my FAVORITE junk store, Tiede’s in Overton, NE (Sorry Karla for sharing our semi-secret!) for about $2.00 I think!  The frames were just screaming for me to create something cool. . . well, it’s 2 years later and I was finally inspired!

This gorgeousness came as a gift from my amazing boyfriend in celebration of one year together. Yes, I’m head over heels!  We weren’t going to get each other anything but I couldn’t resist moving forward with a little idea that had been growing in my head. . . so I finally took apart that frame and went to work.

You see, my boyfriend is very passionate about his guitar playing, Eric Clapton‘s guitar playing, Derek Trucks guitar playing, Joe Bonamassa’s guitar playing and many many more Guitar Gods.  And  I love that about him.  That was my inspiration. So I gesso’d the artwork that was previously in the frame and went to town painting the frame black.

This paint has really good coverage, I like using it for painting frames and furniture.

Because my boyfriend is often changing his guitar strings and I find picks laying around the house, I knew I wanted to incorporate those elements into this piece.

I used hot glue to secure everything down and then started painting over all of it.

Here’s my palette, I wanted to use colors from an acoustic guitar.  I purchased this palette at Hobby Lobby, I love it because the acrylic paint dries and you can just peal it off the palette, so easy!

So here it is after the final coat of paint.  The hot glue beads at the end of the strings will be hidden by the frame, thank goodness!  Next step was trying this image transfer technique.

Ya, it didn’t really work out, well, actually, it didn’t work out at all!  I don’t think I used the correct acrylic medium, nor did I use enough of it. And I will never try out a  new technique on a big piece that I’m giving as a gift again! But I was able to salvage it by painting over the letters in a grayish, brown and painting over all the left over paper. So in the end, it actually created a really cool texture.

And here it is!  The frame totally rocks!

And I love the texture created by the guitar strings, picks and paper from the image transfer oops!

And here it is hanging on the wall in his guitar/music room. It fits so perfectly underneath the painting I gave him earlier this year.  I can’t wait to make another sign!!  What do you think?

Smiles!

Megan

 

10 Responses to “Guitar Gods”

  1. dad Says:

    very nice!

  2. Maureen Says:

    Wow, you did an awesome job of transforming that frame. Your work is incredible. Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. Karla Says:

    Love it! Way to be gutsy. I always love seeing people just dive into something new. It turned out great! See you on Friday!

  4. emily Says:

    this is awesome! i wish i had an ounce of your creativity in my body.

  5. Heidi Says:

    Megan – this is really cool! I couldn’t tell what didn’t work, so was impressed by the whole process. I wonder if it’s enough to inspire me to do my own…probably not, but I can dream, right?!

  6. Jami Says:

    Megs this looks AMAZING! I bet Bri loved it too! You are so darn talented!

  7. […] bought this frame as a set. You may remember this sign I made for my then boyfriend and now husband!! […]

  8. […] bought this frame as a set. I made this sign with the other frame for my then boyfriend and now husband!! […]


Leave a Reply

