Megan O'Dea Jenkins

Wishing you smiles and laughter every day.

Beach Wedding Memory Box October 16, 2011

Before I start building a memory box, I gather all the items I think I will decorate it with and make sure they look good together.  Just like this snapshot below.

Doesn’t it just make you want to sail away to a secluded island with bright blue water and pink, sandy beaches, a cold beer and your best friends? Oh geez, I guess I’m needing a vacation! We are cruising to the Southern Caribbean in January and I just can not wait!

My dear friend Chrissy is basking in the warm sunlight on a swanky beach somewhere in Mexico right now with her new husband Scott and their families. Well, Chrissy is probably sitting by the pool 🙂  They got married yesterday and I designed this box around their beach wedding.  I was able to give it to her a few weeks ago at her shower and she loved it, yay!

I knew I wanted to use bright blue textured paper to represent ocean water and a creamy colored papery and accents to represent sand but had no idea what else to do. So, I wandered around hobby lobby for awhile and it just came to me!

My favorite thing about this box is the “rope”. It’s actually trim from the section in Hobby Lobby where you get all the stuff to make window dressings.

I kept the inside of the box really simple.

I really like how the glass beads bring that glassy water feeling to the piece and seriously, how cute is the fishing net with the big star fish stuck in it?

So happy for you Chrissy & Scott! Now I can’t wait to see all the photos from the wedding!

Smiles!

Megan

 

Leave a Reply

