Megan O'Dea Jenkins

Wishing you smiles and laughter every day.

Yarn Is In & So Are Yarn Wreaths! November 13, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — meganodea @ 7:38 pm

Yarn. . .from knitted scarves and hats to wreaths to window decorations, yarn is everywhere lately! While out shopping this weekend, I even saw it used at the GAP!

Big display wall at the gap. Love the colors. These photos don’t do it justice!

Orange yarn wrapped around screws.And REALLY close up! Now I know you’re all spending countless hours on Pinterest lately and cursing yourself after 2 hours fly by and you’ve filled your “Creative Ideas” board with even more to-do creative projects. Maybe some of those projects were even yarn wreaths like this:

Or all these beauties on Etsy!  I love all the colors so I attempted one on my own.

I was in such a hurry to get supplies so I could wrap this baby during a football game that I only had time to go to Hobby Lobby. Unfortunately, their foam bases were all squared so I found this hay based one for $3.99 and decided to use it and keep the plastic on otherwise it would have been a HUGE mess!

So i wrapped and wrapped and wrapped and wrapped and wrapped. . . it took about half a football game! I found the vintage hot plate at a junk vendor’s table, it was the inspiration for my creation!  I grabbed some holiday ribbon I had left from last year and loosely wrapped the hot plate to hang in the middle of the wreath.

Added a few vintage looking accent pieces I found 50% off at Hobby Lobby. . .

And voila! There it is. I think it turned out pretty cute. Will probably hang on my front door over the holidays!

I think a foam base would have been easier to wrap because the yarn probably would have stayed in place better. So my advice, try the foam, not the plastic covered hay!

Have you created a yarn wreath yet? What are your tips or tricks?

Smiles!

Megan

 

One Response to “Yarn Is In & So Are Yarn Wreaths!”

  1. […] layers of texture but am really really loving how they turned out!  And they go so well with the yarn wreath I posted about recently.  The big frame used to be an old screen door I got for free at the […]


Leave a Reply

