Megan O'Dea Jenkins

Wishing you smiles and laughter every day.

Handmade Holiday Banners December 18, 2011

I’ve always been intrigued by how Miss Lynn from Create Breathe designs with so many layers and textures and colors.

Like this banner for her home.

Or this happy birthday banner full of lace, paper, jewels, buttons, yarn and probably 10 other things I’m not seeing!

Or these gorgeous planers.  I always like how free she is with her stitching and the texture that adds to her designs.

My holiday banners were inspired by Miss Lynn’s work. . . I think I could have added a few more layers of texture but am really really loving how they turned out!  And they go so well with the yarn wreath I posted about recently.  The big frame used to be an old screen door I got for free at the Habitat For Humanity Re-Store. I cut out all the old screen and painted/stained it.  It now hangs above my couch, fun to decorate with wreaths and banners.

I cut out triangles from thick watercolor paper I had in my stash, I actually had all the supplies in my stash!

A little mock-up design.

Then I used the paper triangles as templates, cut out red canvas triangles and glued one on top of the paper.

Then I took to my sewing machine! I chose white thread so it would contrast against the green rick rack and red canvas and lace.

Next I sewed on the white pom trim which secured the red lace as well.

I mocked up the banner in InDesign so I could pick a fun font and get the size right.

I printed out all the necessary letters and cut them out.

Placing them exactly where I want them.

I ended up having to cut them out and trace around the letters with a soft pencil because transfer paper didn’t work well on the canvas.

And then I painted in the outline with white acrylic, and I forgot to take a photo!

Such a beautiful mess of paint and trim and lace and coffee and pencils and tape, I love my old drafting table! I lined the banner pieces up, ready to string them together.

I used a little hole punch typically used in book making and strung some yarn through.

As you can see, I glued a second canvas triangle to the back of the banner after I had everything stitched.  I also used one continuous piece of yarn so that as I use decorate with this in different places I can adjust the width of it.

Always have to add buttons!

I used hot glue to attach the buttons. I love the different button designs.

And there you have it!

Here’s a mock-up for the second one. Again, all items I had in my stash. This time I just used green Canson paper.  It has a little texture to it.

Cut them out and stitched them up. I thought the lighting was kind of cool coming through the mini-blinds.

I picked out a font and printed them out again from InDesign but because this was paper I was able to use transfer paper to trace the letter on the banner.

I used prisma colors to fill in the letters.

Hot-glued the buttons on and strung it with yarn.

And there you go!

Such a fun project that didn’t take a lot of time or pre-prep.

What hand-made decorations have you created this season?  Leave a link below, I’d love to see!

Smiles!

Megan

 

2 Responses to “Handmade Holiday Banners”

  1. miss lynn Says:

    holy schmoley, miss megan!!!!!!
    i feel SO totally honored that
    you like my pretties!!!!! thank you!!!
    let me just tell you that you have
    created some Christmas loveliness!!!
    i LOVE the banners! so happy! we need
    to have a craft party sometime!!! you
    have blessed my heart today!
    xoxoxox


Leave a Reply

