Megan O'Dea Jenkins

Wishing you smiles and laughter every day.

Introducing the Headoord! May 21, 2012

Filed under: decorating,Wall Art — meganodea @ 9:19 pm
Tags: , ,

My sister has been coming up with a lot of projects for me lately and I’m loving it! We were out junking the other weekend and she said she wanted a headboard and I said I have a door you can use and she was instantly sold!! So we created this Saturday and hung it on Sunday!

Clean it up Kate!

I got this door and an old screen door for $10 at the Habitat For Humanity ReStore so one of them was free, I just can’t remember which! This one was marked $1.00 on the tag but also had $10 written on it, so we’re going to say it was $10.

She wanted gray, but we couldn’t find gray spray paint but we could find gray spray paint PRIMER so we used that and it worked great. One can was about $5.00.

Usually I wipe on a stain and work it so the piece looks antiqued but we found this Valspar glaze for $8 at Lowe’s and decided to give it a try hoping the dry-time would be a lot less than when using stain.

It didn’t take much, and it was so easy to just wipe on, let it dry a little for just a couple minutes, then work it and wipe off as you like! The bottle says you have about 15 minutes until it dries and you can’t work it anymore and I would say that’s very accurate!

I didn’t notice that “C” until we antiqued it up! C is for CUTE!

Brian was so kind to help us hang this beast!

We purchased these picture hangers, $12 for 2 (links to 18″ but we got the 6″). They hold a lot of weight! And they worked awesome! As you can see here, we didn’t paint the back of the door, we were too anxious to see how it would turn out!

Brian measured perfectly, it’s level!

And there’s the headoord!

Pretty cute, huh? I like that she picked a softer neutral color and not black.

Looks old and dirty, huh? Just how we like our creations!

Super cute, can’t wait to see what she does with the space above the headboard.

Kate’s a good decorator, she always picks really fun fabrics and knows how to use color without putting it everywhere like I do! Her lime green duvet is from Target and my Mom made the pillow. My Mom also made the wall hanging with the different fabrics. Cute, huh?

Kate was VERY EXCITED!! And she only spent $35 on a headoord!!

When I do this again, I will probably buy a wider door, this one was only 2 feet and I think 4 feet would be perfect. I would also use a door with a symmetrical design, but that’s just my neurosis! I also don’t mind that it is longer than the bed is wide, I think if you had side tables and nice lamps or something tall it would be easy to blend the ends in.

Thanks for asking me to help you with this Kate! Can’t wait to make another one!

What new technique or project have you created lately?

Smiles!

Megan

 

One Response to “Introducing the Headoord!”

  1. […] old door (at a really great price) that you could flip on it’s side and turn into a headboard.  I actually prefer to refer to these […]


Leave a Reply

