Megan O'Dea Jenkins

Wishing you smiles and laughter every day.

Repurposed Frame & Screen October 6, 2013

Filed under: decorating,Holidays,Inspiration,Omaha — meganodea @ 9:09 pm
Tags: , , ,

My creative juices are overflowing, finally!! I started and finished two projects today AND I’m blogging about them both!

Ornate gold frame

I bought this frame as a set. You may remember this sign I made for my then boyfriend and now husband!! woohoo!!

IMG_3478

Yes, I’ve had this in my closet for over three years and it even moved to our new house with me. I knew I’d find a brilliant project to use it for!

IMG_3487

I took the back off and pulled out the print, it’s mounted on a board so I just set them aside. . . you’ll see why in a bit.

IMG_3490

I sanded the frame very lightly to give the paint something to stick to.

IMG_3498

Then I started painting.

IMG_3500

I love these Valspar samples and lately I’ve been obsessed with the color Tropical Oasis. So obsessed that when I showed my Hubs the two projects I was working on today he called me Marie. (Those of you Breaking Bad fans know how much Marie loved her purple. . . well I love turquoise!)

IMG_3511

I’m also obsessed with the Valspar Antiquing Glaze!  It’s like adding a fun scarf to your outfit, it just ties it all together and finishes the outfit perfectly!

IMG_3517

Remember the print and board I set aside? Yep, I wrapped it with some fun paper.

IMG_3518

Then inserted the piece of glass I had cut at the local hardware store.  . . can you see it?

IMG_3521

I couldn’t even wait for the glaze to dry, I had to finish it tonight because I knew it was going to be so cute!

IMG_3540

TADAAA!!!   All of these items I had around the house.  The glass cylinder on the left is just filled with green lentils and wrapped with jute. So simple but super cute!

IMG_3527

The frame-turned-tray turned out just how I wanted! For Christmas I will switch out the paper and the decor. . . I’m going for a turquoise, green and red theme this year, can not wait until Christmas!

IMG_3480

I also painted up this little screen since I wanted to paint it. . . . you guessed it. . . .turquoise, Valspar Tropical Oasis to be exact!

IMG_3481
There is a screen there, can you see it?

 

IMG_3494

I’ve had this screen about three years as well so it was a bit dirty, gave it a good wipe down with a damp cloth.



IMG_3502

Then got to painting!  It only took a couple of coats.





IMG_3545

Eventually I’ll hang a holiday themed wreath on this screen but for now it added another layer to our mantle.  I’ve been Pinning mantles like crazy on Pinterest! Come follow me!

IMG_3546

That sign right there was painted by Susie Harris,

one of my most favorite bloggers.  I love her work.

IMG_3555

I’m loving today’s projects! My old house had every wall painted a color!  Now, all my walls are “Latte” so I’m using color in other ways. It’s definitely been a challenge, but I’m slowly figuring out.  Next challenge is what to do with those windows!

If you have any ideas, let me know!

Cheers!

Megan

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Repurposed Frame & Screen”

  1. Love it! So cool! I really love the color you chose for the frame.

  2. Robyn Cobbs Says:

    Very nice Megan!

    Robyn R. Cobbs Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. […] get to the wreath in a second, first I want to show you how I turned the Thanksgiving tray into a Christmas […]


Leave a Reply

