Megan O'Dea Jenkins

Wishing you smiles and laughter every day.

Holiday Wreath How-To December 8, 2013

We’ll get to the wreath in a second, first I want to show you how I turned the Thanksgiving tray into a Christmas tray!

Frame to tray Christmas

I already had most of this in my house including the paper. The candlestick holders and bowl were beautiful wedding gifts!  And the shiny holiday bulbs. . . well, I bought them for the wreath and luckily had a few left over.

Holiday tray from frame

Simple but cute, right?  Okay, now on to the fun stuff!

Sparkly wreath upgrade

Store-bought wreaths are so expensive! And I never find one where I love every single thing about it so it never feels like it’s worth the cost.  That’s why this year, I wanted to make my own wreath, and it had to be colorful and it had to be sparkly!!

Holiday wreath upgrade

I found this fantastic mess of sparkles and texture at Garden Ridge for $19.99.  What a crazy store!

Holiday Wreath Upgrade

Garden Ridge also had bulbs in all sorts of sizes, colors and textures. I chose orange, turquoise, red and green all sparkly, shiny and a little matte too. Total cost for bulbs was $10.00.

holiday wreath upgrade

First I simply placed the bulbs on the wreath to make sure my vision would work.

holiday wreath upgrade

It seemed  a little plain and needed something to tie it all together so I grabbed this ornament off the tree (thanks Mom)!  Just what it needed!

holiday wreath upgrade

Then I started with the hot glue! I think I used 3 sticks of glue!

holiday wreath upgrade

Can you see all the glue on that bulb? I didn’t even burn myself!

Holiday wreath upgrade

Oh so pretty. I used red tulle to hang the ornament in the middle.

Holiday wreath upgrade

I love how it turned out and that I was able to incorporate the colors orange and turquoise in my Christmas decor!

Holiday wreath upgrade

I tried to clean up all the glitter but I think I will be finding it for years to come.  Good thing I believe the world needs more glitter!

Cheers!

Megan

 

2 Responses to “Holiday Wreath How-To”

  1. Haley Says:

    Really cute project! It is so fun to see your style…


Leave a Reply

