Megan O'Dea Jenkins

Wishing you smiles and laughter every day.

Repurposed Door Frame March 12, 2014

Filed under: decorating,Handmade Artists,Omaha,Repurposed,Wall Art — meganodea @ 6:54 pm
Tags: , ,

Repurposed Door Frame

I’ve repurposed a door frame before and it was so fun and so beautiful I wanted to do more!

Repurposed Door Frame

Although this is super cute as is (thank you Karla!), it was screaming for some color!

Repurposed Door Frame

I call it an old door frame but I think it’s really the molding across the top of old doors. This was in really good shape!

Repurposed door frame

Aren’t these paper designs cute? They were perfect to add some texture to this rather flat board.

Repurposed Door Frame

Measuring carefully, I centered the paper cut outs across the board and glued them down.  Then gave the door frame a good sanding which also chipped it up a little. I love chipiness!

Repurposed Door Frame

And of course I painted it turquoise!  I am in LOVE with this color.  After a few coats of paint, I roughed it up with sandpaper then got out my secret weapon, Valspar Antiquing Glaze, to give it that old antiqued look that always adds nice texture. But of course I forgot to document those steps!

Repurposed door frame

Next step was drilling holes in the center of the paper cut outs for the knobs.

Repurposed Door Frame

My idea worked out perfectly! I loved the added texture!

Repurposed door frame

The knobs are longer than the board is thick but it’s nothing a Dremel can’t handle!  I just snapped on my metal cutting wheel and basically sanded off the ends of the knobs.

Repurposed door frame

I’m in love.

Repurposed Door Frame

I stare at it everyday hanging in my office.

Repurposed door frame

It turned out so awesome!

Repurposed Door Frame

Especially this cute little guy!

What have you repurposed lately?

Smiles!

Megan

 

One Response to “Repurposed Door Frame”

  1. miss lynn Says:

    super cute, miss megan!


Leave a Reply

