Megan O'Dea Jenkins

Wishing you smiles and laughter every day.

Reclaimed Wood Sign September 2, 2014

Filed under: Repurposed,Wall Art — meganodea @ 6:40 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I found this old wood at Junkstock. . . not the recent Junkstock this summer, but Junkstock in the fall of 2013! So I’ve had it for quite some time. 

 

Reclaimed Wood Sign

 

 

 

The wood was in really good shape, had some character, and was super inexpensive, which is rare for reclaimed wood these days.

 

Reclaimed Wood Sign

 

 

 

I started with a coat of white paint, then added some olive green paint as I was planning ahead to create that “weathered” look.

 

Reclaimed Wood Sign

 

This next part was a bit challenging because I freehand lettered “be awesome” on to the sign.  Next time, I’ll either use stencils or print out the letters and trace them on the sign.

 

Reclaimed Wood Sign

 

I then lightly sanded the entire sign to give it that weathered and worn look, then attached a fastener for easy hanging. 

 

Reclaimed Wood Sign

 

This now hangs above our coat closet (in a very awkward space to photograph) on our way out to the garage.

 

Reclaimed Wood Sign

 

 

Every morning I get a nice little reminder to take on the day and be awesome!

 

 

Reclaimed Wood Sign

 

 

I have another reclaimed wood project in the works right now, a whole half of a barn door!  So many possibilities, but I’ve got something up my sleeve and can’t wait to share it with you next month.

 

Smiles!

Megan

 

2 Responses to “Reclaimed Wood Sign”

  1. Haley Spears Says:

    That is a great reminder. I forgot to be awesome today. Also, really cool project!!


Leave a Reply

